International Summer School on Nuclear Decommissioning and Waste Management.

European Commission (EC) Joint Research Centre (JRC), Nuclear Safety and Security Directorate Nuclear Security Unit.

Date & Venue
11–15 September 2017, JRC Ispra (Italy), Auditorium Bldg. 58C.

Nuclear Security Unit (JRC Ispra) in collaboration with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and Milan University

School Objectives
To strengthen education on planning and operating nuclear decommissioning and waste management.
The objectives of the school are to:
1. Enhance awareness of nuclear decommissioning and waste management.
2. Better understand the roles and responsibilities of the various involved parties such as operators and regulators.
3. Develop an appreciation of related issues such safe operation of a decommissioning process as radiation protection.
4. Highlight the sequence of activities in nuclear decommissioning and waste management.
5. Visit nuclear facilities to give insight to practical decommissioning operations.
6. Promote education in nuclear decommissioning to better face challenges in energy generation.

Target Audience
The school targets university level students and young professionals in nuclear field.


Until 25 August 2017. The number of participants will be 80 on the basis of "first registered - first served". The participants are required to cover their stay in Ispra and there will be no registration fees.
Register in: https://web.jrc.ec.europa.eu/rem/

Nature of the School
The school uses a combination of lectures, school working sessions, practical exercises, case studies and group deliberations as part of the exercises to meet its objectives.

The school duration is five days covering several topic sessions:
> Legal framework, Regulation and Guidelines.
> Material Characterization and Clearance
> Radiation Protection.
> Operational ND&WM experience
> Licensing, Communication and stakeholders engagement in ND&WM
> Education and Training and R&D in ND&WM
> Visits of nuclear facilities under decommissioning


Upon request of participants needed Visa, the JRC will provide invitation letters.

Scientific Committee
Abbas Kamel (EC JRC), Bruno Gérard (IAEA), Burgess Pete (Consultant), Cantone Marie-Claire (Università degli Studi di Milano), Kockerols Pierre (EC JRC), Janssens Willem (EC JRC) and Pedersen Bent (EC JRC).

Questo indirizzo email è protetto dagli spambots. È necessario abilitare JavaScript per vederlo.